Awards Summary

Each season TAFWA presents awards in a number of categories to members who have contributed to the advancement of the sport of track and field.  Awards ceremonies are conducted every year during the NCAA or USA Outdoor Nationals.

Details of the awards and past recipients can be found by clicking on an award title.

James O. Dunaway Memorial Award
For excellence in track and Field journalism, both in print and online

Scott Davis Memorial Award
Presented to a current announcer

Pinkie Sober Award
Presented to a retired announcer or posthumously

Bud Greenspan Memorial Film and Video Award
For excellence in track and field/running film and video production

Coogan's Book Award
For the leading book published in each of the following categories in previous year:
Book of the Year
Biography or Autobiography
Young Adult

Cordner Nelson Memorial Award
For a body of work writing about track and field and running

H.D. Thoreau Award
For excellence in track and field broadcasting

Sam Skinner Memorial Award
For ongoing cooperation with the press

Richard Clarkson Photography Award
For excellence in track and field/cross country/running still photography

Adam Jacobs Award for Online Journalism
For excellence in online personal writing on track and field, cross country or running in the previous year

Don H. Potts F.A.S.T. Award
For exceptional statistical and research work during the previous year

Manning Solon Award
For a career of excellence in track and field photography

Alice Mililat Award
For pioneering efforts on behalf of women in American Track and Field

Bob Hersh Award
For a Lifetime of contributions to all facets of the sport in America