Honoring the work of the great Olympic filmmaker Bud Greenspan, the award, first presented in 2011, recognises outstanding film and/or video production for the previous year.

Recipients of the award have been:

2016  –  Nancy BEFFA  (Doping – The Shadowy World of Athletics)
2015  –  Sterling NOREN (Run Free: The True Story of Caballo Blanco)
2014  –  Dan NOYLES & Robin HAUSER REYNOLDS (Running For Jim)
2013  –  Met Film Productions (Town of Runners)
2012  –  National Film Board of Canada (Mighty Jerome)
2011  –  Mark FLOREANI (FloTrack)